Junior Jumpstart Monday: Francis Camara


Y Van, Guest Writer

Q: Tell us a little bit about yourself.

A: “I’m 16 and I’m a junior this year. My birthday is on Sept. 9. I was born in France. I speak five languages: English, French, two African languages, some Spanish and some Japanese because I watch a lot of anime.”


Q: What has been your favorite part about this school year?

A: “One of my favorite things about this year is that I get more sleep time. Last year I woke up at 6:00 a.m., but this year I get to sleep for like an extra hour and a couple of minutes. I can wake up at 7:00 a.m. and get ready for classes at 8:30 a.m. Another thing is that we don’t have that many classes each day. It’s like three classes per day and that’s pretty good I guess.”


Q: What do you miss about Huron?

A: “One thing I miss about Huron is walking through the hallways, seeing my friends, the teachers and everything.”


Q: What is one goal you have for this year?

A: “One of my goals for this year is to do the best I can on everything, no matter what happens.”


Q: What is your favorite class and why?

A: “One of my favorite classes this year is my earth science class. I don’t know anything about the class but I’m starting to learn new stuff about the Earth and stuff like the environment and I really like it. Another one is my finances classes because it teaches me how to manage my money. We did a project about pricing our future and I really loved it.”


Q: What hobbies/sports do you do?

A: “Some hobbies I do are drawing, painting and I like to create things or make stuff out of paper like origami. I listen to music, I dance,  I like to hang out with friends and I talk and text a lot. Some of the activities I do are that I’m on the soccer team for Huron. I really like doing sports and trying out new things.”